The Charlotte Sports Foundation (CSF) announced today the North Carolina Tar Heels and West Virginia Mountaineers will face off in the 22nd annual Duke’s Mayo Bowl. The game will be played on December 27th at 5:30 PM ET in Bank of America Stadium. 

“We are excited to share the selection of North Carolina and West Virginia for this year’s Duke’s Mayo Bowl,” said Danny Morrison, executive director of CSF. “These two teams have amazing fan bases, and we are confident this matchup will provide a compelling game and memorable experiences for fans and players alike.” 

This is the third meeting between the two schools, with each winning one game. The most recent meeting took place in Charlotte in 2008, with West Virginia winning 31-30. 

“We look forward to hosting two great college football programs in North Carolina and West Virginia as they represent the ACC and Big 12 in this year’s Duke’s Mayo Bowl” said Joe Tuza, president of Duke’s Mayo.  “We love bringing fans together through one of our favorite southern traditions – college football.  In addition to what we know will be some great football, we’ll be creating memorable experiences for the teams, devoted fans, and the city of Charlotte at the Duke’s Mayo Bowl, the only bowl with “Twang”.  

Tickets for the Duke’s Mayo Bowl are now available on Ticketmaster, and fans are encouraged to secure their seats early. The game will also be broadcast live on ESPN ensuring that fans from around the country can join in the celebration of college football and mayonnaise. 

For more information about the Duke’s Mayo Bowl, including ticket details and event updates, please visit